School Events

There are no events to display

News

New Outdoor Learning Spaces
With the incredible help of T. J. Kalaniopio and Brad Samura from HPA Maintenance, alumni Alex Woodbury '96, owner of Kamuela Hardwoods, along with the entire class of 2021, three new outside learning spaces have been completed and are ready for use!

Faculty


david Bauman, Performing Arts

B.A., University of Wisconsin
M.F.A., University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
dbauman@hpa.edu

Cathy Grant

Ari Bernstein '94, Digital Media, Arts Department

B.A., Washington State University
M.F.A., University of Southern California
abernstein@hpa.edu

Jerald Bleckel, Mathematics, Instructional Leader

B.S., Bucknell University
M.A., University of Oregon
jbleckel@hpa.edu

Brenda Clark, English, Instructional Leader

B.A., Purdue University
M.A., Middlebury College
bclark@hpa.edu

Tani Wright Cordova, Science

B.S., Pacific Lutheran University
M.S., University of Hawaii Hilo
tcordova@hpa.edu

Daena Craven, Registrar

B.A., University of Arizona
dcraven@hpa.edu

Kristine Dahlquist, Mathematics

B.S., Ohio Wesleyan University
M.A., Ohio State University
M.S.T., University of New Hampshire
kdahlquist@hpa.edu

Lupe Diaz, Mathematics

B.S., Southern Oregon State University
M.A.T., Lewis and Clark College
ldiaz@hpa.edu

Aimee Donoho, Spanish

B.S., Willamette University
M.S., University of Hawai'i, Manoa
adonoho@hpa.edu



Deighton Emmons, Science

B.A., University of Maine
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i
dkemmons@hpa.edu

Kelly Hart, Social Studies

B.A., University of Hawai‘i
M.S., University of New Haven
khart@hpa.edu

Kimo Higgins '86, English

B.A., University of North Carolina
M.S., Willamette University
khiggins@hpa.edu

Takeshi Hiruma, Japanese, Drivers Education

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
thiruma@hpa.edu

Kiera Horgan, English, Social Studies Department Chair

B.A., University of Pennsylvania
khorgan@hpa.edu

Mollie Hustace, Art Director, Isaacs Art Center

B.A., Stanford University
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i
mhustace@hpa.edu

Rika Inaba, Japanese, Modern Language Department Chair

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
rinaba@hpa.edu

Lois Inman, Library and Media Center

B.A., University of Northern Colorado
M.Ed., Mississippi State University
M.L.I.S., University of Oklahoma
linman@hpa.edu

Gary Jarvill, Mathematics

B.S., Western Washington State
gjarvill@hpa.edu

Renee Jenkinson, Director of Outdoor Programs

B.S., Portland State University
rjenkinson@hpa.edu

Babs Kamrow, History

B.S., Macalester College
M.A., Central Michigan
bkamrow@hpa.edu

Patricia Kassis, Mathematics, Instructional Leader

B.S., Willamette University
M.S., MIT/Woods Hole Oceanographic
pkassis@hpa.edu

Jing Lei, Chinese

Three Year, Guanzhou University
M.Ed., The College of New Jersey
jlei1@hpa.edu

Sally Lundburg, Visual Arts

B.F.A., San Francisco Art Institute
slundburg@hpa.edu

Joyce Martin, Spanish

B.A., Colorado State University
B.A., University of Missouri
jmartin@hpa.edu

Stephanie McDowell, Science

B.S., Clemson University
M.S., Rutgers University
smcdowell@hpa.edu

Greg McKenna, Science Department Chair

B.E., McGill University
M.E., McGill University
gmckenna@hpa.edu

Jeff Mix, ELL

B.A. Whitworth College
M.F.A Pacific Lutheran University
M.A. Gonzaga University
jmix@hpa.edu

Eric Mumau, History

B.A. Whitworth College
B.A., Washington State University
M.Ed., Washington State University
emumau@hpa.edu

Mary-Alice Kawai Nogues '74, ELL

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
mnogues@hpa.edu

Patrick O’Leary, Digital Media

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
poleary@hpa.edu

Sheldon Ormsby, Spanish

B.A., The University of Auckland, New Zealand
M.A., The University of Auckland, New Zealand
sormsby@hpa.edu

Willie Quayle, Upper school garden coordinator

B.A., University of Virginia
M.A.T., University of Virginia
wquayle@hpa.edu

Dr. Mark Ravaglia, Mathematics Department Chair

B.S., Stanford University
M.S., Carnegie Mellon University
Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
mravaglia@hpa.edu

Marc Rice, Director of Science & Technology

Director, Sea Turtle Research Program

Computer Science Chair
B.S., Humboldt State University
M.S., University of Hawai’i, Manoa
mrice@hpa.edu

Ka'ai Spencer, Hawaiian Language

B.A., and B.S., University of Hawai‘i
M.EdT., University of Hawai'i
kspencer@hpa.edu

Jared Terpak, Arts Department Chair

B.A., University of Oregon Eugene
jterpak@hpa.edu

Sara Toga, Learning Specialist

B.A., Visual Media Emerson
M.S., Special Education Simmons College
stoga@hpa.edu

George White '79, Mathematics

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., Heritage College
gwhite@hpa.edu

Dr. Bill Wiecking, Science, Energy Lab Director

B.A., University of California at Berkeley
M.Ed., University of California at Berkeley
Ph.D., University of Hawai’i
bill@hpa.edu

Adrienne White, Social Studies

B.A., Miami University
M.A.T., Miami University
awhite@hpa.edu

Ken Zecchini, Mathematics

B.S., Wake Forest University
kzecchini@hpa.edu

Will Zucker, Ceramics

B.A., University of California
wzucker@hpa.edu


Nicole Anakalea, Hawaiian Studies

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
nanakalea@hpa.edu

Cathy Grant

Rachel Baydo, Counselor

B.A., University of San Francisco
M.A.E.D., Plymouth State University
M.A.E.D., San Jose State University
rbaydo@hpa.edu

Cathy Grant

Dagan Bernstein `97, Mathematics

B.A., University of Oregon
dbernstein@hpa.edu

Betsy Boland, Spanish

B.A., University of California
bboland@hpa.edu

Shelley Boswell, English

B.A., Colorado State University
sboswell@hpa.edu

Justin Brown, Mathematics

B.A., Brown University
M.A., San Jose State University
jbrown@hpa.edu

Julie Camarillo, English

B.A., DePauw University
M.Ed., George Mason University
jcamarillo@hpa.edu

DR. Shannon Doak, Education Technologist

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.E.T., Boise State University
Ed.D., Boise State University
sdoak1@hpa.edu

David Giff, Library Media Specialist

B.A., University of California at San Diego
M.A., Lewis and Clark College
dgiff@hpa.edu

Vivian He, Chinese

B.A., Central Broadcast and Television University
vhe@hpa.edu

Kimberly Honda, Social Studies

B.A., Arizona State University
khonda@hpa.edu



Laura Jim '91, Science Curriculum Leader

B.S., University of Oregon
ljim@hpa.edu

Dana Petteys

Barbara Kopra, Performing Arts, Fine Arts Curriculum Chair

B.S., Southern Oregon University
M.Ed., University of Oregon
bkopra@hpa.edu

Dana Petteys, Interim Middle School Principal

B.A., University of Washington
M.A., University of Hawai‘i Manoa
dpetteys@hpa.edu

Monica San Jose

Dr. monica san jose, Science

B.S., US Naval Academy
M.Ed., The College of New Jersey
Ed.D., University of Southern California
msanjose@hpa.edu

Jane Taylor '68, Art

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
jtaylor@hpa.edu

Take a look at what we are doing in art class

HOPE SOO, KINDERGARTEN TEACHER

B.A., Colorado State University
M.S.Ed., Bank Street College of Education
hsoo@hpa.edu

Teri Chong '82, Grade 1 Teacher

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
tchong@hpa.edu

Carolyn White '79, Grade 2 TEACHER

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., Heritage College
cwhite@hpa.edu

Robert Barretto, Grade 3 TEACHER

B.A., University of California
M.A., University of Michigan
M.S., University of Michigan
bbarretto@hpa.edu

Cobey Doi, Grade 4 TEACHER

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
cdoi@hpa.edu

Kristin Tarnas, Grade 5 TEACHER and Curriculum Leader

B.A., Bennington College
M.S.Ed., Bank Street College of Education
ktarnas@hpa.edu

Alexa Hustace '94, Art TEACHER

B.A., Washington State University
Master of Letters, University of Sydney
M.A.T., University of Sydney
abates@hpa.edu

Erica Van Pelt, Education Assistant

B.S., California Polytechnic University
egargiulo@hpa.edu

Dee Walker, Education Assistant, Director of
the Lower School after school program

A.S., Hawai‘i Community College
dwalker@hpa.edu

Rachel Baydo, Counselor

B.A., University of San Francisco
M.A.E.D., Plymouth State University
M.A.E.D., San Jose State University
rbaydo@hpa.edu

Kuwalu Anakalea, Hawaiian Studies Specialist

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
nanakalea@hpa.edu

DR. Shannon Doak, Education Technologist

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.E.T., Boise State University
Ed.D., Boise State University
sdoak1@hpa.edu

David Giff, Library Media Specialist

B.A., University of California at San Diego
M.A., Lewis and Clark College
dgiff@hpa.edu

Georgia Polakova, Music TEACHER

B.M.Ed., Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory
gpolak@hpa.edu

Betsy Tranquilli, Physical Education

B.S., Emerson College
M.A. Fresno Pacific University
btranquilli@hpa.edu



Top Banner Photos