Container

Quick Links

Get Info

School Events

There are no calendar events to display

News

Faculty Directory


Ari Bernstein '94, Digital Media, Arts Department Chair

B.A., Washington State University
M.F.A., University of Southern California

abernstein@hpa.edu

Jerald Bleckel, Mathematics, Instructional Leader

B.S., Bucknell University
M.A., University of Oregon

jbleckel@hpa.edu

Richard Braithwaite, English Department Chair

B.A., Oberlin College

Brenda Clark, English, Instructional Leader

B.A., Purdue University
M.A., Middlebury College

bclark@hpa.edu

Tani Wright Cordova, Science

B.S., Pacific Lutheran University
M.S., University of Hawaii Hilo

tcordova@hpa.edu

Daena Craven, Social Studies

B.A., University of Arizona

dcraven@hpa.edu

Kristine Dahlquist, Mathematics

B.S., Ohio Wesleyan University
M.A., Ohio State University
M.S.T., University of New Hampshire

kdahlquist@hpa.edu

Lupe Diaz, Mathematics

B.S., Southern Oregon State University
M.A.T., Lewis and Clark College

ldiaz@hpa.edu

Deighton Emmons, Science Department Chair

B.A., University of Maine
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i

dkemmons@hpa.edu

Steven Halstead, Science

B.S. Tufts University

shalstead@hpa.edu

Kelly Hart, Social Studies

B.A., University of Hawai‘i
M.S., University of New Haven

khart@hpa.edu

Jordan Hayslip, Visual Arts

B.A., Amherst College
M.Ed., University of Massachusetts

jhayslip@hpa.edu

Sarah Hayslip, English

B.A., Hampshire College
M.A., University of Massachusetts

shayslip@hpa.edu

Kimo Higgins '86, English

B.A., University of North Carolina
M.S., Willamette University

khiggins@hpa.edu

Takeshi Hiruma, Japanese, Drivers Education

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo

thiruma@hpa.edu

Kiera Horgan, English, Social Studies

B.A., University of Pennsylvania

khorgan@hpa.edu

David Huntington, Science

B.S., Grand Valley State University
M.A., Central Michigan University

dhuntington@hpa.edu

Corey Humphrey, English

B.A. West Virginia
M.A. West Virginia

chumphrey@hpa.edu

Mollie Hustace, Art
Director, Isaacs Art Center

B.A., Stanford University
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i

mhustace@hpa.edu

Rika Inaba, Japanese, Modern Language Department Head

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa

rinaba@hpa.edu

Lois Inman, Library and Media Center

B.A., University of Northern Colorado
M.Ed., Mississippi State University
M.L.I.S., University of Oklahoma

linman@hpa.edu

Gary Jarvill, Mathematics

B.S., Western Washington State

gjarvill@hpa.edu

Jamie Johnson, English

B.A., Oberlin College
M.A., University of Dayton

jjohnson@hpa.edu

Babs Kamrow, History

B.S., Macalester College
M.A., Central Michigan

bkamrow@hpa.edu

Patricia Kassis, Mathematics, Instructional Leader

B.S., Willamette University
M.S., MIT/Woods Hole Oceanographic

pkassis@hpa.edu

John Kilkenny, Social Studies Department Head

B.A., Baylor University
M.Ed., Portland State University

jkilkenny@hpa.edu



Joyce Martin, Spanish

B.A., Colorado State University
B.A., University of Missouri
M.A., Colorado State University

jmartin@hpa.edu

Stephanie McDowell, Science

B.S., Clemson University
M.S., Rutgers University

smcdowell@hpa.edu

Greg McKenna, Science, Mathematics

B.E., McGill University
M.E., McGill University

gmckenna@hpa.edu

Jeff Mix, ESL

B.A. Whitworth College
M.F.A Pacific Lutheran University
M.A. Gonzaga University

jmix@hpa.edu

Eric Mumau, History

B.A., Washington State University
M.Ed., Washington State University

emumau@hpa.edu

Mary-Alice Kawai Nogues '74, ESL

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa

mnogues@hpa.edu

Patrick O’Leary, Digital Media, Director of Alumni Relations

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa

poleary@hpa.edu

Sheldon Ormsby, Spanish

B.A. The University of Auckland, New Zealand
M.A. The University of Auckland, New Zealand

sormsby@hpa.edu

Willie Quayle, Upper school garden coordinator

B.A., University of Virginia
M.A.T., University of Virginia

wquayle@hpa.edu

Dr. Mark Ravaglia, Mathematics Department Chair

B.S., Stanford University
M.S., Carnegie Mellon University
Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University

mravaglia@hpa.edu

Marc Rice, Director of Science & Technology
Director, Sea Turtle Research Program

Computer Science Chair
B.S., Humboldt State University
M.S., University of Hawai’i, Manoa

mrice@hpa.edu

Ethan Spencer '91, English

B.A., University of Hawai‘i

espencer@hpa.edu

Ka'ai Spencer, Hawaiian Language

B.A. and B.S., University of Hawai‘i
M.EdT., University of Hawai'i

kspencer@hpa.edu

Jared Terpak, Performing Arts

B.A., University of Oregon Eugene

jterpak@hpa.edu

Sara Toga, Learning Specialist

B.A Visual Media Emerson
M.S. Special Education Simmons College

stoga@hpa.edu

George White '79, Mathematics

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., Heritage College

gwhite@hpa.edu

Dr. Bill Wiecking, Energy Lab Director

B.A., University of California at Berkeley
M.Ed., University of California at Berkeley
Ph.D., University of Hawai’i

bill@hpa.edu

Adrienne White, Social Studies

B.A. Miami University
M.A.T. Miami University

awhite@hpa.edu

Ken Zecchini, Mathematics

B.S. Wake Forest University

kzecchini@hpa.edu

Will Zucker, Ceramics

B.A., University of California

wzucker@hpa.edu



Nicole Anakalea, Hawaiian Studies

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo

nanakalea@hpa.edu

Dagan Bernstein `97, Mathematics

B.A. University of Oregon,

dbernstein@hpa.edu

Betsy Boland, Spanish

B.A., University of California

bboland@hpa.edu

Justin Brown, Mathematics

B.A., Brown University
M.A. San Jose State University

jbrown@hpa.edu
dbernstein

Julie Camarillo, English

B.A., DePauw University
M.Ed., George Mason University

jcamarillo@hpa.edu

Shannon Doak, Education Technologist

B.Ed., University of Hawai'i, Manoa
M.E.T., Boise State University

sdoak@hpa.edu

David Giff, Library Media Specialist

B.A., University of California at San Diego
M.A., Lewis and Clark College

dgiff@hpa.edu

Kimberly Honda, Social Studies

B.A., Arizona State University

khonda@hpa.edu

Laura Jim '91, Science Curriculum Leader

B.S., University of Oregon

ljim@hpa.edu

Barbara Kopra, Performing Arts, Fine Arts Curriculum Chair

B.S., Southern Oregon University
M.Ed., University of Oregon

bkopra@hpa.edu

Jing Lei, Chinese

Three Year, Guanzhou University
M.Ed., The College of New Jersey

jlie1@hpa.edu

Ashlee madrid, Physical Education and Health

B.S., California Polytechnic Insitute
M.Ed., University of Oregon

amadrid@hpa.edu

Dana Petteys, Registrar

B.A., University of Washington
M.A., University of Hawai‘i Manoa

dpetteys@hpa.edu

Jessica Sobocinski, Lower School Garden Coordinator

B.A., Indiana University

jsobocinski@hpa.edu

Dina Strittmatter, Mathematics

B.S., Lehigh University

dstrittmatter@hpa.edu

Jane Taylor '68, Art

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa

jtaylor@hpa.edu

Take a look at what we are doing in art class

Rachel Baydo, Guidance Counselor

B.A., University of San Francisco
M.A.E.D., Plymouth State University
M.A.E.D., San Jose State University

rbaydo@hpa.edu



Hope Soo, Kindergarten

B.A., Colorado State University
M.S.Ed., Bank Street College of Education

hsoo@hpa.edu

Teri Chong '82, Grade 1

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo

tchong@hpa.edu

Carolyn White '79, Grade 2

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., Heritage College

cwhite@hpa.edu

Robert Barretto, Grade 3

B.A., University of California
M.A., University of Michigan
M.S., University of Michigan

bbarretto@hpa.edu

Cobey Doi, Grade 4

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa

cdoi@hpa.edu

Kristin Tarnas, Grade 5, Curriculum Chair

B.A., Bennington College
M.S.Ed., Bank Street College of Education

ktarnas@hpa.edu

Alexa Bates '94, Art

B.A., Washington State University
Master of Letters, University of Sydney

M.A.T., University of Sydney

abates@hpa.edu

Erica Van Pelt, Education Specialist


B.S., California Polytechnic University

egargiulo@hpa.edu

Dee Walker, Education Specialist

A.S., Hawai‘i Community College

dwalker@hpa.edu

Rachel Baydo, Guidance Counselor

B.A., University of San Francisco
M.A.E.D., Plymouth State University
M.A.E.D., San Jose State University

rbaydo@hpa.edu


Nicole Anakalea, Hawaiian Studies

B.A., University of Hawai‘i, Hilo

nanakalea@hpa.edu

Shannon Doak, Education Technologist

B.Ed., University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
M.E.T., Boise State University

sdoak@hpa.edu

David Giff, Library Media Specialist

B.A., University of California at San Diego
M.A., Lewis and Clark College

dgiff@hpa.edu

Georgia Polakova, Music

B.M.Ed., Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory

gpolak@hpa.edu

Jess Sobocinski, Lower School garden coordinator

B.A., University of Indiana

gsobocinski@hpa.edu

Betsy Tranquilli, Physical Education

B.S., Emerson College

btranquilli@hpa.edu

Top Banner Photos

Powered by Finalsite